Although cellphones are good to have when traveling in the vehicle as they allow you to call 911 in the event of an emergency or use your GPS when you get lost, they also play a significant role in contributing to roadway dangers. In fact, according to the National Safety Council (NSC), using a cellphone while driving has become a threat to our public health.
If you were involved in an accident with a distracted driver in Plano, Texas, a Plano texting while driving accident lawyer from Loncar Lyon Jenkins can determine if the driver responsible for the accident may be liable for compensating you for any injuries or losses you suffered.
How Do You Hold a Driver Liable After a Texting While Driving Accident?
Drivers who neglect to follow their state’s cell phone laws could be held accountable for their behavior. If a driver rear-ended you, sideswiped your vehicle, or caused any other type of motor vehicle accident because they were texting, you may be able to recover compensation by filing a claim with their auto insurance provider. Because drivers in Texas are required to carry certain types of insurance coverage, you may be able to get your vehicle repaired and some of your medical bills covered.
According to the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), the current minimum insurance requirements the State of Texas has set for drivers are as follows:
- $30,000 of liability coverage for injuries per person, up to $60,000 per accident
- $25,000 of liability coverage for property damage
Essentially, what this means is that if the driver was responsible for your accident, you may be able to collect compensation up to these amounts, given that there is evidence for your claim. Unfortunately, it can sometimes be difficult for a car accident victim to seek the full amount of money they may be due from the insurer. Therefore, it can be helpful to have our Plano texting while driving accident lawyer assist with the claims process to help advocate for your interests.
877-239-4878Available 24/7 | 356 Days | se habla español
What Do You Do When the Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance Coverage?
In the event the driver who hit you doesn’t have enough insurance coverage to cover your medical bills and other accident-related expenses, you may be able to obtain coverage from your own policy. Some of the types of insurance coverages that could help you pay for the expenses you incurred as a result of a texting accident include:
Collision coverage will help pay to repair or replace your vehicle, according to the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI).
Medical Payments Coverage
Medical payments coverage will help pay for some or all of the medical bills you or your passengers incurred as a result of the texting while driving accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP coverage will also pay for some of your medical expenses and even lost wages if the accident has prevented you from working.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
If the driver who hit you was not carrying any insurance coverage at the time of the accident or didn’t have enough coverage to satisfy your medical bills, then you may be able to obtain coverage using your underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage.
How Do You Sue a Driver for Causing an Accident Due to Texting?
If you suffered a serious, costly injury such as a traumatic brain injury (TBI), fracture, or even a spinal cord injury as a result of the collision, you may want to file a personal injury lawsuit. You may also be able to file a suit if you are unable to recover fair compensation from the insurance company. A Plano texting while driving accident lawyer from our firm can explain what a personal injury lawsuit is and whether or not it would be in your best interest to file one.
When you file a personal injury lawsuit, you may be entitled to pursue compensation for the following:
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Lost income
- Mental anguish
- Medical expenses
In the event it was a loved one of yours who was involved in a texting while driving accident and they suffered fatal injuries, our firm can discuss with you the steps you may be able to take to hold the driver liable for their careless behavior.
877-239-4878Available 24/7 | 356 Days | se habla español
Texas’ Cell Phone Laws and How They Could Apply to Your Case
When an individual shifts their attention from the road to their cell phone, they increase their chances of engaging in a car accident, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Sadly, about eight people in the U.S. die each day in motor vehicle accidents that involve a distracted driver.
Because cellphones now serve as a factor in many car crashes, many states have enacted laws to help deter a driver away from using their device when they are behind the wheel of a vehicle. According to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), drivers in Texas are prohibited from:
- Sending or receiving text messages while they are driving
- Using a cellphone during the first six months of driving if they are driving with their learner’s permit
- Using a cellphone in a school zone
- Using a handheld device when they are under the age of 18
- Using a cellphone when they are operating a school bus
When a driver violates one or more of their state’s cell phone usage laws, they can be held liable if their actions cause an accident.
Call in the Strong Arm Attorneys After a Texting While Driving Accident
To find out if you have a case against a driver who caused a texting while driving accident in Plano, TX, contact a representative from Loncar Lyon Jenkins. We can review your case and determine what the best course of action would be to seek any compensation you may be due.