There is no single rule that applies to all automobile insurance policies. In general, it is better to notify your insurer immediately after the collision.
The rules about reporting an accident to law enforcement depend on multiple factors, like the amount of property damage and whether there were injuries.
When Should You Report a Collision to Your Insurance Company?
Every insurance company sets its own deadlines on the amount of time you have to report an accident. Your policy might say that you have to notify your insurer within ten days, 30 days, or some other deadline. Some policies use vague terms like “promptly” without a definition of what satisfies that requirement.
Since some insurers try to deny coverage if a person does not report a collision within 24 hours, it is best to report all accidents immediately. Even if you did not get a ticket at the scene of the accident, report it to your insurance company.
Why You Should Report Your Accident to Your Insurer
There are several reasons why you should always report a crash to your insurer, such as:
- Your automobile insurance policy most likely contains a provision that requires you to report all collisions, regardless of fault. They could cancel your policy, even if no one makes a claim against your policy.
- If anyone else got hurt and makes a claim against you, your insurer might refuse to pay the claim if you did not report the accident. You might have to pay a judgment out of your pocket, even if the police did not blame you for the collision.
- If the at-fault party was uninsured or underinsured, your insurance company could deny your claim if you did not notify your insurer soon enough.
- The police could find you at fault or partially at fault at a later date. If you did not comply with the timely reporting requirement of your insurer, they might not have a legal obligation to pay claims against you.
When it comes to reporting a car accident to your insurance company, it is better to act quickly.
For a free legal consultation, call 877-239-4878
Do You Have to Report a Car Accident to State Officials in Texas If the Police Came to the Scene of the Accident?
If law enforcement came to the scene of the collision, you do not have to file a report with the state. You should still notify your insurance company, though.
What Should You do If the Police did Not Come to the Scene of the Accident?
If a police officer did not come to the scene of the crash, the driver of a motor vehicle involved in the collision must file a Driver’s Crash Report, also called a CR-2 (Crash Report 2) if:
- Anyone got injured in the accident
- Anyone died because of the accident
- The property damage was at least $1,000 in value
The driver must file the form with the Texas Department of Transportation within ten days of the crash, using the CR-2 form.
Contact our personal injury lawyers today
What Should You do If You Got Hurt in a Car Accident?
After getting medical treatment right away, you will want to protect your legal rights. You do not have to fight the at-fault driver or the insurance company on your own.
You can Call in the Strong Arm of Loncar Lyon Jenkins to fight your battles so that you can focus on getting better. We can take care of the rest.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
You Also Have a Deadline if You File a Lawsuit
One of the most common reasons that some negligent drivers get away with not paying the losses of the people they injure is the statute of limitations. Our state only gives people two years to file a lawsuit for personal injury or wrongful death, in Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 16.003. If you miss the deadline, the at-fault and insurance company will not have to pay you a single dollar.
Another stumbling block that costs injured people money on their claims is social media. The defendant’s insurer can access your social media accounts and use your photographs and postings against you.
It is best to stay off of social media until you settle your injury claim. Your pictures and postings could get taken out of context to hurt your case.
Work with Loncar Lyon Jenkins
At Loncar Lyon Jenkins, we are happy to offer a free initial consultation. You can call us today at (877) 239-4878 for your no-cost, no-obligation case evaluation.
Call or text 877-239-4878 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form