If you get into a car accident without insurance, then you may face legal penalties. You could also be responsible for any damage resulting from your accident. However, this is not necessarily the case, as the circumstances of every accident are different. A lawyer with our firm can review your case and determine your options.
Auto Insurance Requirements in Texas
Per the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), Texas law requires motorists to have auto insurance. Minimum required coverages are:
- $30,000 in liability coverage per person
- $60,000 in liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 in property coverage per accident
These types of insurance coverage pay for medical care and property damage—not for the at-fault driver, but for victims of the at-fault driver’s negligence. If you fail to maintain these minimum coverages, then you are in violation of Texas law. You may also expose yourself to great financial liability if you get into a car accident without insurance.
For a free legal consultation, call 877-239-4878
Legal Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Unless unique circumstances exempt you from required insurance, then you may face legal consequences for driving while uninsured. Penalties may include:
- For a first offense of driving without insurance: An initial fine of up to $350 and a $250 surcharge (recurring charge) for three years
- For a repeat offense of driving without insurance: An initial fine of up to $1,000 and a $250 surcharge for three years
Officials may suspend your license for a repeat offense of driving without insurance. This suspension may be in effect for two years or until you can prove that you have acquired auto insurance.
Authorities may also impound your vehicle for 180 days. You may pay a fee for each day that your vehicle is impounded, resulting in a significant financial cost. Certain individuals may also face suspension of their license.
The Cost of Being Uninsured May Be Far Greater than Fines and Fees
If you have an accident without insurance, then the financial cost may be far greater than fines and impound fees. If you are at fault for your accident and you lack insurance, then you may be responsible for other parties’:
- Past and future medical expenses: Healthcare costs can add up quickly, particularly if those involved in your accident have serious injuries.
- Lost income: If injuries prevent another party from working, then you may have to cover their lost wages.
- Vehicle damage: You may need to pay to repair another party’s vehicle. If the party’s vehicle was totaled, then you may have to replace the totaled vehicle.
- Pain and suffering: Car accidents cause various types of trauma. If you caused your accident, then you may pay for treatment of another party’s trauma. You may also be penalized for the harm caused by the trauma itself.
The more victims of an accident that you caused, the greater your financial burden may be. Because you lacked insurance, you may have to cover these costs out of your own pocket.
Liability for your accident may determine whether you bear the financial cost of your accident. If you are not liable for your collisions, then legal fines and fees may be the extent of your financial costs.
Contact our personal injury lawyers today
You May Be Entitled to Compensation Even if You Lack Insurance
Your situation may be significantly different if you were not at fault for your car accident. Because of Texas’ comparative fault statutes, you may receive compensation even if you lacked insurance at the time of your collision.
You may be able to file an insurance claim with the liable party’s insurer or bring a lawsuit against the party who caused your accident.
Your lack of insurance may affect the amount and types of awards you can receive, though. Once we review your case, we may create a strategy for pursuing compensation for you.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
You May Have a Limited Time to Pursue Compensation
Whatever your role in your car accident was, it is important to get legal help as soon as possible. If you can pursue compensation, then you may have a limited time to file your case.
Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 16.003 generally provides two years for you to file a personal injury or wrongful death case. Our firm will monitor these and any other deadlines that apply to your case.
You do not have to deal with your car accident case on your own. Our firm can provide legal counsel and resources that may help you secure a positive result.
Call Loncar Lyon Jenkins After Any Car Accident
Whether you have insurance, lack insurance, were at fault, or were not at fault for your accident, call in the Strong Arm. Our attorneys will review your case and provide the legal services that you need.
Connect with Loncar Lyon Jenkins today at (877) 239-4878 for your FREE consultation.
Call or text 877-239-4878 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form