Failure to report a car accident in Texas could result in the suspension of your driver’s license. However, this is not necessarily the case for every type of car crash. There are only certain situations in which you are required by law to report a wreck in Texas.
With that being said, reporting your motor vehicle accident, even if you are not legally required to, could make all the difference in your ability to recover maximum compensation for your damages.
Why Should I File a Car Accident Report?
Filing a car accident report in Texas may not always be legally required. Still, there are certain benefits to filing a police report after a crash, even if the damages or injuries are minor. Some of the reasons for filing a car accident report include:
- Your injuries may not always be initially visible
- Your injuries may be minor at first but worsen
- Vehicle damage is not always apparent until later
- The liable party makes accusations that you share fault for the accident
One of the benefits of having a crash report is that they make the insurance claims process run more smoothly. Police will often determine liability at the scene of the accident. You can expect the insurance company to use the police determination as part of their decision when reviewing your car accident claim.
For a free legal consultation, call 877-239-4878
Am I Required to File a Police Report for a Car Accident in Texas?
Under Texas Transportation Code §550.062, you must file your car accident report within ten days of a collision that results in death, damage to property exceeding $1,000, or bodily injury.
If you are required to file a car accident report, you will need to fill out a CR-2 Form, also commonly referred to as “the Blue Form,” which will then be submitted to the Texas Department of Transportation. Your CR-2 Form will need to include detailed information, including:
- Where the accident occurred
- What time the accident happened
- All involved drivers’ names, addresses, dates of birth, license numbers, insurance information, and contact information
- A summary of how the accident occurred
- Any road or weather conditions at the time of the collision
All of the information contained in your CR-2 Form could prove to be valuable when you include your car accident report as part of the evidence in your insurance and civil claims. However, if you are still unsure whether to file a report in your case, always err on the side of caution and file the crash report anyway.
What Will Happen If I do Not Report My Accident?
Failure to report your crash at the scene or a later date through the Texas Department of Transportation is punishable by suspending your driver’s license. However, this may only happen in cases where someone suffers serious bodily injury, passes away, or if the total damage of the accident exceeds $1,000.
Filing an accident report can benefit your case when someone else is responsible for causing your car accident injuries. So even if you initially believe your injuries or the damage to be minor, do yourself a favor and file a crash report.
Contact our personal injury lawyers today
How do I File a Report for My Car Accident in Texas?
When you are ready to file your accident report in Texas, there are a couple of different ways you can do so. First, you can file your report with the police officer who shows up at the accident scene.
If you do not call the police to the scene or decide to file your accident report later, you can do so with the Texas Department of Transportation. Remember, filing a police report does not automatically mean you will have access to a copy of the report.
You can obtain a copy of your Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report (CR-3) using the Crash Report Online Purchase System.
A regular copy of your car accident report will cost six dollars, while a certified copy will cost eight dollars. Subpoenas and affidavits will cost eight dollars. Alternatively, you can contact the Texas Department of Transportation to request a mailed copy of your crash report.
If you have questions or concerns about your ability to file or access a copy of your Texas car accident report, contact your car accident attorney to discuss your concerns further.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Get Help From a Car Accident Lawyer in Texas Today
Do not risk the suspension of your driver’s license for failure to report a car accident in Texas. Reporting your auto accident will provide valuable supporting evidence in your insurance and civil claims.
You can get started on your car accident lawsuit when you contact Loncar Lyon Jenkins for help. Schedule your free, no-obligation consultation by calling our office.
Call or text 877-239-4878 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form